‘I think people place too much emphasis on their careers’

Phil: I think people place too much emphasis on their careers. I wish we could all live in the mountains at high altitude. That’s where I see myself in five years. How about you?
Rita: Oh, I agree. I just like to go with the flow. See where it leads me.
Phil: Well, it’s led you here.
Rita: Mm hmm. Of course it’s about a million miles from where I started out in college.
Phil: You weren’t in broadcasting or journalism?
Rita: Uh unh. Believe it or not, I studied 19th-century French poetry.
Phil: [laughs] What a waste of time! I mean, for someone else that would be an incredible waste of time. It’s so bold of you to choose that. It’s incredible; you must have been a very very strong person.

From the movie, “Groundhogs Day” with Bill Murray (Phil).

About Don Seiffert

I'm a reporter and writer in the Boston area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

