Last vacation

At Lillydale,

I stood

over a tray of magic stones

polished

so smooth

I could almost see my own face.

I picked out a few

to send to my son

who was 6

and maybe still believed

in magic.

 

There was a turquoise one

for strength

a sparkly one

for wealth

and one that didn’t say what it did

layered

pink and orange

like the sky on that afternoon

in March

when he watched from the back seat

as I was cuffed and ducked

into the back seat of a squad car.

 

I could not find any stone

to make him forget

my face

disappearing

in the rear-view mirror.

 

One year anniversary of March 13, 2010.

About Don Seiffert

I'm a reporter and writer in the Boston area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

