Make, like, tea (and leaves) this holiday season

I guess Christmas season is the time when everyone who likes the idea of loose tea, but considers it too much of a pain to make, gives other people tea as a gift. That may explain the prominence this holiday season of Candy Cane Black tea, which just today I saw advertised both in a Trader Joe’s newsletter, and on the homepage of my favorite tea site, for Virtuous Teas in Newton. I haven’t tried it, but I’m hoping it’s a lot better than Candy Cane Polar Seltzer, which was hands-down the most disgusting thing I’ve ever tasted (Note to Seltzer fans: The Pumpkin Spice and the Eggnog, surprisingly, were kind of good. But that’s a topic for when I start a seltzer blog).

So what kinds of tea are good for the holiday season? I have two I can recommend right off the bat: First is Decaf Vanilla from Virtuous Teas. It’s made with real vanilla bean so it’s not fake-tasting and it’s decaf so you don’t go crazy if you drink it all day. The second is Red Velvet Cuppa Chocolate, which despite the dumb name, is really good and also non-caffeinated because it’s rooibos (or “red” tea). Both are good for late nights with a flaming yule log. A third, which is unfortunately no longer available, was called Spicy Green at Virtuous Teas, but they stopped selling it a couple years ago for some reason.

If you have a favorite tea flavor for this time of year, leave it in comments below.

About Don Seiffert

I'm a reporter and writer in the Boston area.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make, like, tea (and leaves) this holiday season

  1. Jim Walker says:

    Don, thanks for the reminder that I need to break out of my Earl Grey Decaf and Sleepytime rut. And to think I live only a mile from Virtuous Teas!

Leave a Reply

